Home > Uncategorized > THE MAKING OF MARINES: 1956 AND THEREAFTER…

THE MAKING OF MARINES: 1956 AND THEREAFTER…

EXCERPT !!!!!

…..Ermey himself had, in fact, previously served as a Marine and drill instructor, but he was, for the most part an unknown actor at that time. Maybe the above factors had much to do with the way the film was perceived both then and now, maybe not.

**************************

Again, in my opinion, I believe the D.I. was the most realistic and honest film yet made regarding the experience of Marine Corps recruit training. I expect I am in the minority here, judging by responses to this that I have received across the Internet, but that is my opinion–take it or leave it.

Jack Webb has been dead these many years, and Ermey has gone on to acclaim as an actor and personality. Ermey, having reached the rank of staff sergeant while on active duty, has now been officially appointed/promoted to the “honorary” rank of gunnery sergeant by the Marine Corps, a title which he uses as a television personality, etc.

This serves to remind me that Benjamin Franklin was the recipient of one or more “honorary” doctorates. Honorary doctorates are not “earned” degrees, nor conferred on the basis of work done or academic achievements met, etc.. I have read, that Franklin thereafter went by… “Doctor Franklin.” Some say he even insisted that members of Congress address him as such. Whether or not anyone ever took him seriously and complied, I don’t know. Gomer Pyle (Jim Nabors), and others, BTW, have also been promoted to honorary Marine Corps ranks, but of course, Nabors was best known anyway as a comic.

I have seen Ermey’s performances in several movies, and I agree that he is a pretty fair actor, maybe even better than fair, in some cases. As to his judgement in choice of certain parts/roles he accepts to play…well that’s another story, I think. I read an RLE Interview (below) where he was questioned on that point, and I believe he just alluded to the amount of pay he received for that dubious part in question.

Ref

Interview…

http://www.ugo.com/channels/filmtv/features/rleeermey/

I do think, and I must honestly say, that the character he has developed on his television presentations is something less than desireable for the image of a United States Marine. In fact it may indeed be a throwback to the old pre-WW II films depicting the military sergeant as a less than super-intelligent character.

The following remarks, I find in the book, The United States Marine Corps In Books And The Performing Arts, by Richard L. Hemenez, Col USMCR (Ret.), McFarland & Company, 2001………….MORE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

via THE MAKING OF MARINES: 1956 AND THEREAFTER….

via THE MAKING OF MARINES: 1956 AND THEREAFTER….

  1. June 11, 2015 at 12:04 pm
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

